Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Free shipping on orders over $120 (otherwise $8 flat shipping fee or free curbside pickup). In-store shopping is limited to 2 customers at a time with masks and hand sanitizer upon entering.

Thelonious Monk with Sonny Rollins & Frank Foster

Made by Thelonious Monk

Sold out

This set has four numbers (including Monk's originals "Wee See," "Locomotive" and the catchy "Hackensack") featuring Monk with trumpeter Ray Copeland (an underrated player), tenor saxophonist Frank Foster, bassist Curly Russell and drummer Art Blakey. However it is "Let's Call This" and the two versions of "Think of One" that are best-known, for Monk teams up with the French horn wizard Julius Watkins, bassist Percy Heath, drummer Willie Jones and the great tenor Sonny Rollins.


Number of Discs: 1

Track List:

1 We See Monk 5:16
2 Smoke Gets in Your Eyes Harbach, Kern 4:34
3 Locomotive Monk 6:23
4 Hackensack Monk 5:13
5 Let's Call This Monk 5:08
6 Think of One [Take 2] Monk 5:47
7 Think of One [Take 1] Monk 5:37